Why you shouldn’t use profanity

For school, I had to read the book Ellen Foster over my vacation. Although this post is not why I had to read the book, it gives me the perfect opportunity to end your use of profanity.

Read the book, Ellen Foster, thoroughly. Then the rest of this will make sense. I may spoil the book for you, but hear me out.

Ellen, at the beginning of the book, is ten years old. She sees her mother die of an overdose and her father dies later too. Eventually her “mama’s mama” dies. She is abused by her alcohol-addicted father while he is alive and she lives under 7 different roofs; some more than once because she was forced to return. Seven homes in a little more than a year.

Ellen curses throughout the book because she is little and she has the right. With that kind of life and cruelty handed to her, anyone would curse their situation as a method of self pity. Once you read the book, ask yourself “Is my life better than hers? Do I have it better off than she does?” and I’m sure the answer will be yes, your life is far better than hers. Because your life is better, you do not have a reason to curse every small, insignificant thing that annoys you. Ellen has a reason to be angry at the world, but you don’t. You have no reason to be angry because your life is so much better than hers.

At the very end of the book, the message changes. Ellen acknowledges that her life is so much better than her “coloured friend” who is spending the weekend with her and her”new mama”. She realizes and admits that even though she has had a rough life, there is still worse out there, so she stops cursing and becomes happy with what she has. Ellen had a reason to curse, to hate the world for what it made her go through, but she eventually realizes that her life could have been so much worse.

You, dear reader, never had a reason to curse in the first place. You never had a reason to hate the world, even if in hates you. Some parts of the world hate me because I was born Jewish. I don’t understand why they hate me, why they wish I was dead, but I don’t hate them and I don’t curse them. You have no reason to curse, and if Ellen could find a way to stop cursing because she became happy with life, then I’m sure you can too.

The world could be such a better place if people stopped using profanity. Help me make the world a better place by changing your habits in language use. If Ellen could change her ways, then you can too.

One thought on “Why you shouldn’t use profanity

  1. What you say does have a point. After reading this I looked up a quote from Spencer Kimball–“Profanity is the effort of a feeble mind to express itself forcibly.” True, in a way. Although cursing might act as a kind of catharsis for people going through a difficult time or in distress, most people–I know–curse for no real reason at all, merely to blow off steam, to sound cool or laid-back, or simply because it’s been engraved in their natural vocabulary. It can be considered a lack of eloquence, I guess, if you can’t express yourself–your anger, your sadness, or even your happiness–with intelligent words, instead having to resort to one-word expletives to get the point across. Vergil, Swift, and Voltaire didn’t have to curse to insult; but, then again, they were able to do that using their wit.
    I’ll keep this in mind, though, next time a couple of loose words pop up in my mind.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

