The Maze of the Subconscious

The subconscious is truly a maze in that you never know where you are nor where you will end up. You don’t know what it is up to until you fall asleep, but even then you may still not have the map drawn for you. In the subconscious, it is a maze filled with rooms and corridors, similar to a matrix. I wish to open one of these doors but only one version of this door. The door of which I am opening is the one of reflexes.

Last night, my father was driving my family home from a hibachi restaurant. My grandmother is in town from France and apparently she had never been to one. As we were driving home, it started to rain heavily. Over in the next lane, the one on our left, a car signaled that it would be turning left. Instead of slowing down, the car behind it swerved into our lane and nearly hit us . As he nearly ran into our car, my father honked at him and said the “f” word. Naturally, since I hate profanity, I yelled at him by saying “hey” loudly. That was the first time I have ever heard my father use that word. I suppose that is why it was so shocking. Maybe the language my father regularly hears at work is beginning to affect his choice of language!

This made me realize that people may not curse just because they are in a bad situation and need to vent. It could be considered a reflex. If cursing when avoiding danger is a reflex, then all the odds are against me when it comes to trying to change the language of my generation and the generations before me. If cursing is a reflex, then there is only one way to solve the problem.

If using profanity comes with instinct, then in order to fix the problem, we must make it so that the next generation doesn’t have that instinct.  We must make it so that the next generation never hears a swear word while growing into adulthood. I don’t swear because I never heard that set of words between kindergarten and 8th grade. It was only until I came into a public school, with all sorts of backgrounds, did I start to become less naïve of that aspect of the English language. Therefore, if part of the next generation is corrupted with the knowledge of profanity, then the corruption will spread and hope is lost. In order for the problem of profanity to be resolved, every last child of the next generation has to be withheld from the cursing aspect of any language.

A new question arises that, depending where you live, swearing changes from place to place. For example, in Montreal (and perhaps all of Quebec), words such as “tabernacle” or “holly grail” when said in the Quebec version of French are considered to be words of profanity. If the next generation is never exposed to the concept of cursing, then there will never be an issue with profanity. Profanity is just words after all, but the way you use the words is what puts them in the category of profanity. Therefore, perhaps the problem is not the words themselves but rather the concept behind them and the reaction they create.

In order to fix problems within ourselves, we have to understand the matrix of our brain and the maze of subconscious. In order for profanity to no longer become a problem in society, the next generation has to be blocked from both the idea of profanity and the words that society in the region uses as profanity. The next generation might be a decade or more away, but we can start fixing this instinct or reflex now in order to make sure that the next generation is not corrupted.

Leave a Reply

