A Place in the Heart or Makom Balev

This is a song that some friends of mine shared with me. I thought I should share the lyrics with you. Don’t worry, there is a translation, just scroll down a bit.

Kedey le-hag-shim ha-lom E-had Yashan

Yesh tzo-reh be-mil-yon hol-meem

She-lo otzmeem et ey-ne-hem

Kedey le-hag-sheem ha-lom e-had yashan

Yesh tzo-reh be-mil-yon hol-meem

She-lo otmeem et oz-ne-hem

 

She-mu-cha-neem el ha-ha-lom le-hit-ka-rev

She-od soh-reem eh le-ha-kel et ha-ke-ev

She-ye-ho-leem le-hit-ha-hev, le-hit-ha-yev

Ve-le-ga-lot she od nish-ar la-hem ma-kom ba-lev

 

Ma-kom ba-lev

Ma-kom ba-lev

The song was originally in the Hebrew alphabet. I wrote the transliteration of it above, mainly because I can’t type in Hebrew. I have absolutely no idea how to work an Israeli keyboard. For those of you who can’t read Hebrew, you’re welcome.

Thankfully, my friends translated the song for me, making it now understandable. Most of the readers of this blog cannot understand Hebrew too well, including myself. They can’t read it well enough to be a second or third language, so I have typed up the translation for your convenience.

In order to fulfill an old dream,

There’s a need in one million dreamers who won’t close their eyes

In order to fulfill an old dream,

There is a need in one million dreamers who won’t close their ears

 

That are willing to step forward for the dream

That remember how to ease the pain

That can fall in love, to commit, and to find out that they still have a place in their heart

 

A place in their heart

A place in their heart

The translation might not be perfect, but you get the idea of what the song is about. The Shlichim (Israeli representatives) sent to my city introduced me to this song, and now I have shared it with you.

We really do need dreamers in this world; dreamers who have the ability to envision the world under different circumstances. We need dreamers who can make life easier than it already is but also to correct the wrongs we have committed. You and I must dream of ways to undo the atrocities that arrogance has cast upon the world. It may not have been our fault that the arrogance exists, but it is our duty as human beings to fix what has been done.

We created machines that are slowly destroying this planet, and now we must think in a creative manner to fix what we have done. We are thinking about how to purify the oceans from trash. We are thinking creatively about how to minimize air pollution from vehicle use. There is a solution, but we must dream about it before we can make it a reality. We created an industrial age that was revolutionary. Now we must reinvent industrialization in order to better society.

If we have a heart to do what is right, if we have a heart to know what is right, then dream on! Use those doodles in class to imagine the next great invention. When your reading the news and something upsets you, dream about what could be done to help or to make a difference. If we have the heart to act in courage and take a stand, then stand for what is right and show the world what is truly right.

Dreamers who read this blog, dream on, and make your dreams a reality. Please help me make my dreams come true (see “I have a dream too” and “My Christmas Letter”) and let us change the world for the better.

16 thoughts on “A Place in the Heart or Makom Balev

  1. I am curious to find out what blog platform you’re using?
    I’m experiencing some minor security issues with my
    latest site and I would like to find something more
    risk-free. Do you have any suggestions?

    Like

    • This blog was created with the help of WordPress. I am currently enjoying the Publication Theme layout. I hope that helps you and your website that you mentioned.

      Like

  2. Magnificent beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your site, how can i subscribe for
    a blog website? The account helped me a acceptable deal. I had
    been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright
    clear idea

    Like

    • On the right, in the gray band, there is a little section to subscribe via email. All you need to do is enter in you email there. There should also be a little subscribe pop-up in the bottom right hand corner of your screen. I hope that helps!

      Like

  3. Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your web site and
    in accession capital to assert that I acquire actually enjoyed account
    your blog posts. Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently quickly.

    Like

    • Thank you for spreading the word my friend! If more people understand what is going on in the world, then we may be able to do something to make the world better!

      Like

  4. Hi there! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading through this
    post reminds me of my previous roommate! He always kept preaching about
    this. I’ll send this article to him. Pretty sure he’ll have a good read.
    Thank you for sharing!

    Like

    • On the bottom right of your screen, you should see a little pop-up that sais “subscribe”. Click on that and enter in your email.
      If you don’t see that, then look towards the gray column on the right. There should be a little area that asks to join via email. Click and enter in your email.

      I hope that helps.

      Like

  5. I have been surfing online greater than three hours lately, but
    I by no means found any attention-grabbing article like yours.
    It’s beautiful value sufficient for me. In my view, if all website owners and bloggers made good content as you probably did,
    the net will be much more helpful than ever before. http://bing.net

    Like

  6. It is appropriate time to make some plans for the long run and it’s time to be happy.
    I have read this publish and if I may just I want to counsel you some interesting issues or advice.
    Perhaps you could write subsequent articles relating to
    this article. I wish to read more things approximately it! http://yahoo.net

    Like

Leave a Reply

