I love Israel and you should too (Picture of Tel Aviv)

On Thursday, I went to a Jewish community program about entrepreneurship. The introduction video is bellow.

 

I love Israel and respect all of its people. The people who inhabit Israel are just as good or bad as you and I, but the only difference is how they were brought up. The Jews of Israel, that 75% percent of the Israeli population, never had to deal with Jewish identity problems. They are constantly surrounded by Jews, by people who are from the same ancestors (that is why all Jews are cousins; we all come from Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob!) as they are, and who believe in roughly the same thing.

I like to say that I have many homes. Some are in the United States, some are in Canada, some are in Europe, and Israel is one of my homes too. I define a home as a place where I belong and I know that I will be safe when living there. Israel is the land of my people; I have walked on the land where my ancestors have walked, have fought, and have died in order for my generation of Jews to exist. That small piece of land between the Jordan River and the Mediterranean will always be there for me and have my back. I know that I will always be safe there, for the people who fight for Israel will never be defeated; they are fighting for so much more than just a country.

If I was built for army life, I would never fight for the United States; I would go to Israel and fight for my homeland, my people, my religion, and my very extended family. Unfortunately, I’m a scrawny, 98 lb, 15 year old girl, so the military will never be for me. I have the uttermost respect for Israeli soldiers, for they are fighting for so much more than just a government. They are fighting for absolutely everything they believe in, down to the last Hebrew phrase in the tanach (the entire old testament) and the constitution.

There are thousands, if not millions, of people out there in the world who hate Israel and the Jewish people. With what the video told you, the world would truly be a sad place without Israel. Where would we be without its inventions? Where would we be without its military, given that it is a role model for other counties’ military units? Where would the world be without Jews? What would you be doing right now if I, a Jew, hadn’t written this for you to read? Einstein was Jewish; where would we be without him? For all of you who use the bible as a reference in your every day lives, Isaac was Jewish and he gave birth to twins. I’m the descendent of Jacob, the father of the Jewish people, and all Arabs are the descendent of the other twin, Esau. Where would we be without Isaac?

The answer is simple: in a worse place than we are right now. Long live Israel and let us appreciate all that it has offered us and will offer us. Shalom.

6 thoughts on “I love Israel and you should too (Picture of Tel Aviv)

  1. Oui, tout cela est vrai mais avant d’être Juifs, Arabes, Chrétiens, Bouddhistes ou autres nous sommes avant tout des êtres humains et peu importe qui sont nos ancêtres. Ce sont ces divisions qui font que l’humanité va si mal.

    Like

      • If I lived in Israel, that would be true, but I wouldn’t be just bone anymore. I suppose that one reason I am hesitant to join the Israeli army later in life is the language barrier. I can read Hebrew, but I wont be able to understand most of what I am reading. If I lived in Israel this wouldn’t be a problem, but then I would be forced to join the army, I wouldn’t be able to choose whether or not I wanted to go.

        That is one of the beautiful things in Israel. Everyone is in the army and has that experience. When the country goes to war, everyone goes to the war effort because everone knows at least one person who is fighting now and one person who died in the last war. It bonds the country together in a way that is not possible in The United States or in Canada.

        Like

    • It is true that all human beings are related to each other; we all originate from Africa someway or another. It is important to know who your ancestors were because it is important to know the history of how you came to be. Even if this isn’t important to someone in their everyday life, it is still interesting.

      I am a Semite on my father’s side and a Caucasian on my mother’s side. I am a descendent of Sem and Caucus, tying my genetics to many regions of the world. My genetics from my Semite side interest me more, so that is why I tend to group myself with Israel more than France.

      We are all related to each other, for we are all humans. You are correct. However, one could safely say that there are sub groups of human beings because genetics have clear variations depending where your ancestors traveled to.

      These subgroups can be a good thing, but you are right in saying that they pose a problem in the world. We see these groups as being different, so some of us have a tendency to have racist issues. It also allows us to trace our family tree back to the original african tribe/group because we know by these subgroups where our families were in the world. I suppose it just depends on who you are and what your view is on the subject in order to say that these subgroups of the human race is good or bad.

      Like

      • J’ai eu la chance de voyager et surtout de rencontrer des gens de tous milieux, de diverses origines, cultures et religions. Qu’ils soient instruits ou non, tous sont égaux à partir du moment où ils sont simplement tolérants, où ils acceptent les idées ou convictions des autres sans les juger et les rejeter. Je pense que c’est la base d’une humanité meilleure.

        Like

        • The world would be a much better place if there was no racism. If everyone was as accepting as you, racism might not be such a big problem anymore. Teach the world Benedict how you see humanity, and maybe they will listen.

          Like

Leave a Reply

