Rape of Belgium… again?

In World War 1, Germany went through Belgium to attack France. Many people call this incident the rape of Belgium. In World War 2, Germany did exactly the same thing. One could say that it was the second rape of Belgium. Now, there is a third, but it was not Germany. ISIS has claimed responsibility for this “rape” and nearly took the lives of several friends of mine.

First it was Paris, now it is Belgium. The first time around, I was concerned about my family and friends in Paris. Now, it is my father’s friend and family who have escaped death along with some of my mom’s french speaking friends.

Living in the middle of nowhere, I find that not many people at school are too concerned about such events. I believe this is so because they are isolated and they feel as if it doesn’t affect their everyday lives. This might not be true for everyone; I’m sure some people care and have family over there, but most probably don’t read the news and don’t know that it happened or bother to care that it happened. Luckily, I do read the news and I care. It has affected me; the bombing has had quite an effect on me.

My father’s, Dr. Antoine, lives in Brussels, the capital of Belgium for those who don’t know. One of the places that was bombed was a subway train that Dr. Antoine’s son takes everyday. Luckily, he had to go to a different part of the city for training and was not on the train. Dr. Antoine’s wife also takes the train that was bombed but she too avoided death. She was a little late Monday morning and was planning on taking a train some time after the bomb went off. This is one way that ISIS is affecting me. They are killing people in crowded areas, nearly killing people whom my parent’s are friends.

That is not the only way ISIS is affecting me. My French mother knows a family where we live right now who also speak French. I believe the man is from Luxemburg and the wife is from Belgium. The couple, traveling to Belgium with their children Monday morning, were in the parking lot of the airport when the bombs went off inside the airport. One of their children, a girl my age (whose name at the moment is irrelevant) choked and gave the family quite a scare. Whether she choked from the dust cloud that formed after the bombs went off or choked out of pure fear, I don’t know. I do know that if they had experienced a little more turbulence on the flight, had been delayed by 10-15 minutes, had been forced to wait at baggage claim a little longer, or had some other reason to be late, my mother’s friends might be dead. Whether it be luck, good fortune, or god’s will (that is up for you to decide), they are alive and well, but scared.

ISIS nearly claimed six lives whom are connected to me through my parents. Now we are forced to wonder who is next. Will it be in Europe, Asia, Africa? Could it be me? Could the next target be your city or suburb? When will this happen next, if there is a next? When will the terror, fear, and death end? These questions often go through my head, but I don’t have an answer. I have made myself a potential target given what I have been writing about and the fact that I am taking action, but will it cost me my life or my family’s lives? I don’t know, but I hope not. (For those of you who read this and go to school with me, this is why I have asked that you do not post a comment with any ties to our city. I do not want to threaten your life nor my own by having this connection exist). ISIS has claimed too many lives and I just hope that none of them will be because of me.

This must end. To all of the people who read this from Belgium or France, je suis avec vous. J’espère que les temps change et que personne que vous connaissez est mort à cause d’ISIS.

9 thoughts on “Rape of Belgium… again?

  1. You can not stop speaking the truth. Dont let others intimidate you to fear what your message bring to many people that share your ideas and that can help them feel hope!

    Like

  2. My dear cousin, first let me send you hugs! Having lived through this personally once already and losing many friends – there is an unavoidable truth that it changes you. However, how you choose to absorb the information, what you choose to do or NOT with each experience is what shapes us. I will never forget the smells, sounds, what I saw or the combination of panic, numbness, hope, bravery, helplessness and confusion that I felt. The emotional impact or memory pending how you look at it drifts in and out of my life in unexpected ways and times still 15 years later because it is a part of who I am. Moreover, I try to ensure that it is something that has shaped me but not defined me because I still believe that the future can be a bright place.

    I will never be able to truly understand why it was not my day to die but that death will come another day and until then I believe I am here in part to try to help others in my sphere. There are many ways and I am not the best but I try…for my family, friends, work, the kids schools and the community. Your question is by commenting does it put yourself and the people you love at risk? The question is really more does the commentary make the world a better place…and it does because it inspires conversation. We need more people globally to speak up against evil and oppression, act out with love and compassion and inspire hope and action to combat evil…and in the end terrorism is simply evil in its purist form. Keep writing, keep thinking and keep reaching out!

    Like

    • My father told me the story of how you escaped death on what is now ground zero in New York City. I love hearing that story because it makes you believe that things really do happen for a reason and you were meant to live.

      Thank you for you insight and encouraging words. I will continue to write; ISIS will not control my voice. Perhaps more will write and speak up with what has happened to Belgium. Perhaps more people will realize that ISIS is not the answer and it will never be the answer. Hopefully, this will be the second alarm clock for the world, saying to wake up because something needs to change. This blog is a nonviolent alarm clock for the world.

      Like

  3. Got to be honest. Its the 1st time I ever seen Muslims doing this. A boycott against the Terrorists, but no men are in this boycott. Wonder why. But I guess it is a start.

    Like

    • You mean the picture? The picture I found on google in an article that supported the viewpoint that I have towards ISIS. You are welcome to find out more about such demonstrations. Muslims are not our enemy, but some of our enemies are Muslims.

      Like

  4. Elia, I’m so sorry to hear what you’re going through. That’s really sad. I’m going to say what you told me. Whatever you have to say is not propaganda. You come from a wonderful background, as do I. We are targets because of who we are. They have no tolerance. They are barbaric monsters. And we, Elia, are not. So we will go on. I’m sure I had recently been through the cafe where Dr. Applebaum and his daughter were killed. I think we drove by a bus stop where several Israeli people had been killed, maybe half an hour before. I had to go to a party at Mikes Place that had been bombed. I didn’t want to go and had really bad feelings about it. It was a going away party, and I couldn’t not go. I went. I’m glad I did, because ithelped me confront that fear. That is why Israelis build back up and get back to those places. We won’t, and can’t, let it stop us. Don’t let it do that to you, Elia. Your friends are not affected quite in the same way, and if it doesn’t affect you directly, you don’t pay much attention to it. Maybe you can talk to your parents, or counselors or rabbis or something to help you through this. We just have to go on and be thankful that we’re all okay. And at Purim, we were victorious! Happy Purim, Elia.

    Like

Leave a Reply

