Wild and Free

Today I went hiking in the woods, In the middle of no where, an hour north of Montreal. I ran along the paths, feeling the wind on my face, howling and laughing as I went. Until I tripped on a rock and planted my face in a rock.

Im fine, but my knee is a little scraped up. I licked my wound clean and used moss to soak up the excess blood. It is starting to scab over now, which is good. The scab has almost finished forming.

As I was eating lunch by some rapids, my spirit animal came to visit me. A butterfly danced around me and landed on my knee, a sign that everything was going to be ok. I continued my five kilometer trek in the woods, still laughing and running.

I might live in a house in a city, but my no means am I tame. I howl at the moon and dance in the streets. I talk to the trees and listen to the wind as it tells me its secrets. I pray to the water spirit, Muté, whenever I drink or clean myself. I dance and I pray every day for at least half an hour. I am wild and free.

I might go to school, but there is so much that it does not teach me. I have learned how to pray, how to dance. I have learned how to be humble. I have learned to see the world for what it is and to try to fix it so it can become better. I have learned the value of empathy, how it works, and how to help other people through their problems in life. I am wild and free.

There are many things I have yet to learn just as there are many things that I have yet to do. But by no means will I let society crush me and pull me down. By no means will I let the world silence my voice. I am wild. I am free. I will change the world.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Wild and Free

Leave a Reply

